Weeknight Meal: Lemon Herb Chicken

I love to cook, but sometimes it’s hard for me to cook for one.  I hate making big meals where I have to eat the food for 4 or more meals — talk about BLAH.  So I love when I find go to recipes I can use and adjust the servings as I need.  That’s how I feel about this Lemon Herb Chicken.

Ingredients you’ll need:
– 4 chicken cutlets (I used 2 in this case)
– Extra-Virgin Olive oil
– 1 garlic clove
– 1/2 cup chopped Italian leaf parsley
– 1 lemon, zested and juiced
– salt and pepper

(I know you are uber jealous of my blue countertops.  I’ll tell you where you can get them!  If you go back to 1997 when this house was built, I’m sure every home improvement store will have them in stock. 🙂 )

I’m also going to show you a super simple recipe to make Roasted Broccoli. YUMMO.  All you’ll need for that recipe is broccoli, salt, and olive oil.

First, preheat your oven to 450 degrees F.  This temperature will be used for the chicken and the broccoli.

Take a large, ovenproof skillet and heat it on medium-high heat.  In the meantime, take your chicken cutlets and season on both sides with salt and pepper.

Pour your oil into the hot pan and make sure it coats the whole bottom of the pan.

Place the chicken in the pan and allow it to cook for 3-4 minutes.

In the mean time, start getting your lemon herb sauce ready.

Take your garlic clove and with the back of your knife, smash it down to remove the skin.

Once you’ve removed the skin, go ahead and mince up the clove.

Sprinkle on some salt (about a 1/4 teaspoon).  Take the back of your knife and smash the minced garlic and salt.  Add a little bit of olive oil and continue to smash the clove, making a garlicy paste.

At this point, your chicken is probably ready to flip.  Flip it onto the other side and cook for 1 minute.

After 1 minute, place the pan in the 450 degree oven and cook for 6-8 minutes more.

Now, back to the sauce!  Take out your food processor and add the garlic paste.  Take some parsley and do a rough chop on it.  Add it to the food processor.

(Pretend I’ve inserted a picture here.  My picture was so blurry it would’ve given you a headache!  Anyone want to be my photographer?)

Over the food processor bowl, zest your lemon.

Then juice your lemon.

(Two things.  Do you notice how my camera turns my dining room light into something like a UFO?  Also, this lemon was so giant I could barely fit it into the citrus juicer.  Costco doesn’t just sell giant paper towels; they sell giant lemons!)

Your mixture will look like this.

Pulse in the food processor until the parsley is fully chopped and your ingredients are all mixed together.

Put the lid back on and drizzle in some olive oil.  I’d say about 1/3 of a cup or so, but I just eyeball it until the sauce it how I like it.

The sauce should be a sauce — not too thick.

At this point, your sauce is done.  There is no need to cook it, unless you want to deglaze your pan with it.  But I don’t cook mine.  Just put it into a bowl and it’s ready.

Now, your chicken is most likely done.  Pull it out of the oven and let it sit for a minute.

Put it on a plate, top it with sauce, and you’re done!

Now I’m going to show you how to roast up some broccoli.

Pour some olive oil over the broccoli.  Enough to coat it, but not enough to drown it.  (How’s that for vague?)  I like to stick my hands in there and make sure each piece is oiled up.

Place on a foil covered sheet pan.  The foil isn’t required, but will make clean up a breeze.  Sprinkle some kosher salt on top.

(I’m serious about the photographer, guys.  I’m taking applications.  And by applications I mean telling me you have a steady hand and a camera.)

Place in the 450 degree oven and cook for 20 minutes or so, until the broccoli is cooked through and tender.

(Resist the urge to stuff it all in your mouth at this point.  If only because your mouth will burn and you won’t have the ability to taste the roasted goodness.)

Take your chicken and roasted broccoli and eat up!  Delish!  Tomorrow I’ll serve my extra sauce, chicken, and broccoli over some cooked pasta to mix things up.

Photobucket  

5 thoughts on “Weeknight Meal: Lemon Herb Chicken

  1. Yummo indeed! Man this looks stinkin awesome and it is so healthy! Thanks for another great recipe to put in my “stash”!

    • Thanks so much for stopping by! It is one of my favorite meals.

      I’m off to check out your blog 🙂

  2. I am so hungry right now!! Thanks a lot!!
    I cook my broccoli like that too! I’m going to have to try this little recipe!

    I’m going to have to see if my Costco has lemons that size!

    And if you find a photographer let me know, I could use one too!

Comments are closed.