Race Day Week: Chocolate Chip Cookies

Well, here in Indianapolis we all have Indy 500 fever!  So I’ve decided to do a Race Day Week series with recipes you can use for your upcoming race day party.  (And if you don’t care about race day, these recipes are perfect for Memorial Day festivities as well!)

Monday: Appetizer – The Perfect Deviled Eggs
Tuesday: Entree – Pulled Pork
Wednesday: Sides – Easy Mac & Cheese and Baked Beans
Thursday: Desserts
Friday: Decor
Saturday: Bloggy Roundup – More Recipes and Ideas

I know what you’re thinking — chocolate chip cookies?  I can get a recipe from the back of my Toll House chocolate chips.  BUT WAIT.  Make these and you’ll thank me.  These could be the best chocolate chip cookies you ever ever ever eat.  Ever.

Ever.

(Also did I mention these are giant cookies?  Cause they are.)

What you’ll need:

(Please note that from here on out my pictures show a WHOLE LOT more ingredients than called for.  I was making 3 batches of cookies at one time; something I would not necessarily recommend, as I think it affected the outcome a little.  But I digress.)

Cream your butter for a bit and then add your brown and white sugars.

Then mix in your eggs and vanilla.

Then add in your flour, baking soda, and salt.

OK, I’ve been asked a couple times if I use special ingredients for these cookies, even asking if I’m loyal to specific brands.  The answer is no.  However, I do use finely ground sea salt in all my recipes.  I don’t really like regular table salt and I use it more for that reason, but if you need an idea of what I’m talking about I’ve included a picture.

Mix in your chocolate chips.  I use milk chocolate.  I am one of those weird people who has an overall aversion to plain dark chocolate.  Unless of course it is covering a Milky Way Midnight.  In which case, yes please, I’ll have another.

Using a large cookie scoop (I use the Pampered Chef version), scoop onto parchment lined baking sheets.  If you don’t currently use parchment in your baking, you should start.  I can’t sing its praises enough, simply for clean up reasons.

(For reference, the large scoop holds a heaping 1/8 cup of dough.)

I can fit about 6 cookies on a baking sheet at a time.

Bake at 350 degrees F for 12 minutes.

(I know.  It doesn’t seem like long enough, but it really gives the cookie the perfect texture.)

Let these cool on wire racks and then serve yourself a modest portion.

(I jest.  Maybe don’t eat 6 at a time.  4 would be more reasonable. 🙂 )

Now, if you want to take this dessert REALLY over the top?  Serve it up Diddy Riese style.

When I used to live in the Los Angeles area, my friends and I would occasionally drive down to UCLA and buy $1 custom ice cream cookie sandwiches from there.  (OK, now they’re $1.50, but who cares.)

Take an ice cream scoop and put a large scoop or two (at this point, who is really counting?) of ice cream on top of one of the cookies.

Take the other cookie and smoosh the ice cream down (technical term, no?).

Dig in!

Chocolate Chip Cookies
1 cup butter, softened
3/4 brown sugar, firmly packed
1/2 cup white sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp. vanilla
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. salt
8-12 ounces milk chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Cream butter and sugars.  Add in eggs and vanilla.  Mix in flour, baking soda, and salt.

Stir in chocolate chips.

Take a large cookie scoop (heaping 1/8 cup) and drop onto a baking sheet.  Bake for 12 minutes.

Cool on wire racks and resist the urge to eat them all at once.

Stay tuned for another dessert recipe later today!

Somewhat Simple

8 thoughts on “Race Day Week: Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Had to check out your recipe cause I just made a batch of these last night, mine are very similar just vary in the amounts I’m thinking of adding some oats have you ever? I found your wonderful blog at Somewhat Simple, and would love if you’d check out mine too. http://www.mykidsdinner.blogspot.com I’m just getting my feet wet in this amazing blogging world. 😉

    • I’ve never thought about adding oats. I’m kind of a chocolate chip cookie purist, though. I really only think oats should be in things like oatmeal raisin cookies, oatmeal scotchies, etc. I’ve never been a fan of the oatmeal chocolate chip cookie!

      By the way, I checked out your blog! Super cute! I loved the watermelon fries you posted!

  2. Pingback: Race Day Week: Decor Ideas « The Domestic Librarian

  3. You make these sound so easy, but I’m 40 years old and STILL haven’t mastered the art of making the perfect chocolate chip cookie, and they’re my FAVE. Mine always turn out “puffy” instead of flat and gooey. Ugh. I can’t wait to try your recipe and see what happens. The pictures look delish!

    • These are actually a bit flatter than normal, but mine are never really puffy. Just the right amount of cooked and gooey. One of my cousin’s friends once could not stop talking about how I could get them cooked on the outside and still gooey in the middle.

      I apparently have the magic touch 🙂

Comments are closed.