Vanilla Vanilla Cupcakes

I’ve never been a huge fan of cupcakes.  Call me crazy, but I’d rather just eat a piece of cake.  But once I tried this recipe a little over a year ago, all that changed.  Though I still eat my cupcakes with a fork, like I would a piece of cake. 🙂  Just a little glimpse into the way my mind works.  Don’t stay too long; it could get scary!

Anyway, you’ll need:

The first thing you’re going to do is combine the cake flour, all-purpose flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt into a bowl.  Mix until these are combined.

Take your butter and make sure it is cut into cubes.  I usually cut 1 inch cubes and then cut those in half.

Mix just until all the butter is covered in flour.

In a separate bowl or large measuring cup, whisk together your milk, eggs, and vanilla.

Add the liquid to the flour/butter mixture.  Do this in three parts and mix until everything is combined, but do not over mix.  The batter will have lumps; don’t worry!

Fill the cupcake liners with the batter.  I actually overfilled mine a little, but fill them a bit more than halfway.

Bake at 325 degrees F for 18-25 minutes.  Since mine were fuller, they took 25 minutes.  The recipe says you’ll get 30 cupcakes; I got 23.

Once they were cooled, I took some homemade buttercream frosting (recipe here) and used a large piping tip to pipe the frosting.  I added some white sprinkles to them and …

DELISH!

Vanilla Vanilla Cupcakes (source)
1 3/4 cups cake flour
1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
2 cups sugar
1 tablespoon baking powder
3/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup unsalted butter, cut into cubes
4 large eggs
1 cup whole milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F.

Combine the flours, sugar, baking powder, and salt into the bowl of an electric mixer.  Stir to combine.  Add butter and mix until just coated with flour.

In a separate bowl or measuring cup, whisk together the milk, eggs, and vanilla.  Add to the dry ingredients in 3 parts, scraping down the sides of the bowl after each addition.  Beat until everything is incorporated, but do not overmix.

Scoop batter into cupcake liners and bake for 18-25 minutes, until a cake tester inserted in the center comes out clean.

Once cupcakes have cooled, frost the tops with buttercream frosting.  Add sprinkles if desired.

Tip Junkie handmade projects

Somewhat Simple

5 thoughts on “Vanilla Vanilla Cupcakes

Comments are closed.