Celebrate Dad: Homemade Barbeque Sauce

Most of the guys I know are big fans of the grill.  They like cooking burgers, steak, brats, or pork and for some, barbeque is king.  So I thought it would be fun to make some homemade barbeque sauce!  This recipe is so easy (in fact, I had almost everything on hand) and you could give it with some new grill tools so Dad can make some delicious dinners all summer long.

I know that there is a lot of debate among barbeque lovers.  Some like vinegar based sauces, some like ketchup based sauces, others like no sauce.  Some like to baste while cooking, others like to cook their beef or pork in the sauce (this, I do not recommend), and still others like to serve it up on the side (my personal preference).  This sauce has both ketchup AND vinegar, so I’m hoping it will please all camps in the barbeque world.

Note: since I didn’t have enough ketchup, I lowered the amounts of all other ingredients by a little bit.  And, since I didn’t have Worcestershire sauce I omitted it altogether.  Still tasted great to me!

Use these Father’s Day labels from Martha Stewart to dress up your jar of sauce.

Neely’s Barbeque Sauce Recipe (source)
2 cups ketchup
1 cup water
1/2 cup apple cider vinegar
5 tablespoons light brown sugar
5 tablespoons white sugar
1/2 tablespoon fresh ground pepper
1/2 tablespoon onion powder
1/2 tablespoon ground mustard
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce

In a medium saucepan, combine all ingredients.  Bring mixture to a boil, reduce heat to simmer.  Cook uncovered, stirring frequently, for 1 hour and 15 minutes.

Recipe claims you’ll get 3 1/2 cups.  Even if I had all the ingredients, I would bet I’d only get 2 cups.  Mine reduced a lot.

