Cookies and Cream Cupcakes

Oh, my, are these delicious.  If I do say so myself.  And, of course, I’ve been super annoying to anyone who has tried them — “don’t you like them?”  “aren’t they delicious?”  “that frosting is so good, right?”  “did you know I made up that recipe myself?”

Clearly being humble is not my strong suit.

Also, imagine what I would be like if I regularly created my own recipes.  Yikes.

Cookies and Cream Cupcakes
Makes about 26 cupcakes

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup cake flour
1/2 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 sticks butter, at room temperature
1 3/4 cups white sugar
4 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla
1 cup milk
15 Oreo cookies, chopped

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Combine flours, baking powder, and salt in a bowl.  Mix together with a whisk or fork and set aside.

In a bowl, cream together the butter and sugar.  Add eggs one at a time, mixing well after each addition.  Add the vanilla and mix.

Mix the flour mixture into the dough, alternating with the milk.  Your flour mixture should be added in three parts and the milk should be added in two parts.  Begin and end with the flour mixture.

Fold in the chopped Oreos.

Place cupcake liners in your muffin pan and fill each cup about 2/3 full.  (I use the largest Pampered Chef scoop.)  Bake for 17-20 minutes, rotating halfway through for even baking.  Cool thoroughly before frosting.

Frosting for Cookies and Cream Cupcakes
(note: If piping on your cupcakes, use the full recipe as piping uses more frosting.  If spreading frosting on with an offset spatula, you could easily make half or 3/4 of this recipe.)

16 oz. cream cheese, softened
8 tablespoons butter (one stick), at room temperature
heaping 1/4 cup homemade Oreo cream filling (recipe to follow)
6-8 cups powdered sugar
Milk or heavy cream

Mix the cream cheese, butter, and cream filling until combined.  Slowly add in the powdered sugar.  (I use about 7 cups, but less would enhance the cream cheese flavor.  It’s what you like best!)  Add enough milk or heavy cream to thin it out a bit.

After frosting, top your cupcakes with some Oreo cookie crumbs and a full-size or mini Oreo.

Homemade Oreo Cream Filling
1/4 cup shortening (I know, ew.  But I use organic palm shortening which is actually a natural product.  Or you can just use Crisco.  Either way.)
4 tablespoons butter, at room temperature
2 cups sifted powdered sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla

Mix all ingredients together with a stand or hand mixer until the consistency of Oreo cream filling.

Tip Junkie handmade projects

2 thoughts on “Cookies and Cream Cupcakes

  1. Looks soooo yummy! I love cookies and cream ice cream, so I imagine a cupcake of that flavor must be heavenly as well. Found your project via Tip Junkie’s Tip Me Tuesday.

Comments are closed.